King of all fruit – If I may say so myself. Durians…some like it, some will faint, some say it tastes like heaven, some say it smell like your old sneakers. Gees… even the king can’t pleases everyone!! Anyway, it’s the durian season again (twice in a year) – I was told that a good durian tree (obviously bears the best fruit) only comes in season once a year. I wonder if that’s true but I have to say… I’m very particular about durian. I only eat durian that has a bitter after taste!!! burp!

durian

durian 

There are other ways to eat a durian if you don’t like to eat it from the husk. There are the durian cake (durian dol-dol), durian ice-cream, durian sponge cake, durian chips, etc etc. I have a recipe here some of you might like to try… remove durian fresh from the stone, season fresh with a bit of salt, put aside. Fried till crispy some anchovies (ikan bilis), add in cut green chillies, add in the durian fresh, stir-fry until you smell paradise…. Wah lah you’ll have tempoyak! burp!

This is for you Nicole… make sure you come during durian season next time!!! 🙂durian

