It has been one of those beautiful hot days in Kuching that I decided to give my little car a good wash at Sarawak Society for the Deaf. Across the road from the car wash there is this Taoist temple tuck away behind a larger Buddhist temple at Jalan Laksamana Cheng Ho.

temple

temple

I’m not a Buddhist nor a Taoist by religion but because of my work I have been visiting several places of worship in Kuching and I found that not all temples are filled with smoky burning incense or ‘intimidating’ statues. This Taoist temple is one of them.

This visit had me making a new friend. This young lady, Chong Ying Yin is only 13 years old.

temple

She spoke with a gentle voice and mannerisms which any parents would be proud of. We talked a little while she waited for her school bus to pick her up. In that 15-minute conversation I could tell you that this young lady is going through a lot of hardships in life. I admire her strength and courage in all her trying times – my prayers go out to her.

