Kuching International Airport

kch

Changi Terminal 2

spore

Kuching 7-storey apartment – government owned

kch

Singapore multi-storey HDB apartment

spore

Kuching food court

kch

Singapore food court

spore

Kuching Carpenter Street

kch

Singapore Toa Payoh

spore

Kuching ‘town’

kch

Singapore ‘town’

spore

Kuching tHe Spring

kch

Singapore Ngee Ann City

spore

Whenever I got the chance to visit Singapore, it never seems the same. There’s always construction of new buildings some where or tearing down of some old HDB blocks to make way for new apartment blocks.

In one of my trips to Singapore I visited Toa Payoh, a township I was staying back in the early 90s. Today this place has totally changed! I won’t have recognized it if there wasn’t a sign that says Toa Payoh MRT station. I walked around looking for my old apartment block…gees… it wasn’t there anymore.

Things are fast changing in Singapore, a city where people never stops, where development is on-going, it’s never the same every time you visit. Kuching on the other hand is growing in a much slower pace. A Singaporean once told me Kuching is like Singapore 20 years ago. He likes it here because this place brings back nostalgic memories of Singapore for him. No matter how many new buildings or highways or flyovers that the government is building or being crowned city status, Kuching for me will always remain a quaint little town that I grew up in. Wherever I go, however far I went when the plane hits the runway at Kuching airport, in my heart I have reached home-sweet-home. It is true to the saying ‘home is where the heart is’.