There was a religious parade in Kuching tonight. The parade started from a temple at Wayang Street (next to STAR cineplex) ran through Ban Hock Road, then turned into Padungan Road and back again to Wayang Street.

I got stuck in a traffic jam on the way downtown and by the time I got to Ban Hock Road I only managed to take the end of the parade. However I was told that the end is usually the most important because the gods of the temple walked last.

There were two reasons, I was explained, the purpose of this parade. One was the gods of the temple will go out to the streets once a year, sort of like taking a leisure ride. The other reason was that the gods ‘clean up’ bad spirits along the roads it passes.

Whatever the reasons I think it got a lot of people lined along the roadside even though it was drizzling. And I must say a lot of effort has been put in to organise this parade. There were dragon dances, lion dances, Chinese opera singers, etc etc..

parade

parade

parade

parade

parade

parade

parade

parade

parade

