Recently I went to a Chinese Medical Hall at China Street (off Carpenter Street) to get some herbal remedies. 

This shop, Buan Choon T’ng, has been around for more than a 100 years. The first owner, I was told, ran the business for about 20 years before he sold it to the current owner who has it for more than 80 years.

cmh

 

I’m amazed at some of the antiques in this shop. Just look at the counter and the stools, they are made of belian wood.

cmh

The abacus.

cmh

The measuring devices.

cmh

These days you can’t find these jars anymore.

cmh 

cmh

This is to cut tough herbal roots.

cmh

But don’t get me wrong, the herbs are not antiques! The lady who runs the shop now, Ms Sim, told me they still import the herbs from China.

cmh 

cmh

And this was given by a former patient long time ago.

cmh

