I have always wanted to fly a kite! I still keep a paper kite my big brother made from bamboo 2 year back… hoping one day I might fly it. However, after I went to a park at Jalan Urat Mata today I doubt I ever dare to fly my paper kite compare to the kind of kites these avid kite flyers were having in the sky!!!

This is a ‘stunt’ kite. You pull with two strings, left hand and right hand. You can twist and turn it as you like. It doesn’t go very high but you need strength to manoeuvre it. You can’t get it in Kuching. These guys got in via internet purchase and it costs between RM400-1,000 per piece!!

kite

kite

This is a ‘train’ kite. It’s homemade using plastic bags. This one we see here is about 100 kites in length. If the wind is too strong you can’t let all 100 kites go because the force pulling it will be too strong and the string might snap. So this afternoon Ah Yap just let loose about 50 kites.

kite

And this train kite is about 120 kites in length and it belongs to Albert. Beautiful isn’t it?

kite

And now let me introduce the avid kite flyers… This is Albert.

kite

The guy with the cool shade is Ah Yap…

kite

This is David…

kite

Peace…Ah Teck…

kite

And this guy I won’t dare ask his name… after I was told he’s a butcher! 🙂

kite

By the way, Albert informed me that there will be an international kite festival in Bintulu 16-24 August this year organised by Bintulu Port Authority and Sarawak Kites Association. Check it out at: www.sarawaktourism.com

 

