Hibiscus was chosen as the national flower by Malaysia first Prime Minister, Tunku Abdul Rahman in 1957.

bunga raya

bunga raya

bunga raya

Symbolically, Bunga Raya’s red color represents courage, and the each of the five petals of the Bunga Raya represents the Five Principles of Nationhood of Malaysia.

  • To achieving a greater unity for all her peoples
  • To maintaining a democratic way of life
  • To creating a just society in which the wealth of the nation shall be equitably distributed
  • To ensuring a liberal approach to her rich and diverse cultural traditions
  • To building a progressive society which shall be orientated to modern science and technology

We, her peoples, pledge our united efforts to attain these ends guided by these principles:

  • Kepercayaan kepada Tuhan (Belief in God)
  • Kesetiaan kepada Raja dan Negara (Loyalty to King and Country)
  • Keluhuran Perlembagaan (Supremacy of the Constitution)
  • Kedaulatan Undang-undang (Rule of Law)
  • Kesopanan dan Kesusilaan (Mutual Respect and Morality)

Extracted from Malaysia Travel Guide