wesak

wesak

wesak

wesak

wesak

Another reason to feel good in Sarawak; the choice of religious practices as long as it’s not disruptive to the social harmony that we enjoy…

Imagine living in a land where different races, cultures and religions are allowed to flourish and co-exist – so vibrant.

Especially for a camera trigger-happy person like me; so a few days back I was armed with my camera, ready to “shoot” Kuchingnites celebrating “Wesak Day” – probably the most momentous day in the Buddhist calendar.

Starting at around 6pm, believers from a dozen temples and associations were gathered at the City South Council Stadium, most with a lotus shape candle holder in their hands and ready to walk to Kenyalang about 5 km away.

There is also a float procession with every one fully decorated with a Buddhist theme.

The event attracted hundreds who lined up the street to watch this very special parade.

And buzzing about, you find me with my camera looking for the best spot to capture this event and getting totally enthralled by the lights, smells and humanity of it all….

Oh Kuching, Kuching my Kuching…….

