Chap Goh Mei in the Hokkien dialect means the fifteenth day of the Lunar New Year, which is also the first full moon of the New Year.

Today is also known as Chinese Valentine’s Day. This is the time where young unmarried women gather by the river / on top of bridges to toss mandarin oranges into the sea and wish for a handsome future husband. (This is a custom originated from Penang).

dscn7591

So here I am, me and  my (leftover) oranges and ready to throw into Sarawak River. (I shouldn’t say “leftover” in case I got a “leftover” husband. But what if I throw in a pamelo, would that land me a “handsomer” husband or a “rounded-size” husband?) Greedy? nahh… desperate… err..err..!!!😉

After a long while thinking how to throw that big pamelo with an injured wrist, I decided against throwing any fruit into the river coz this is king tide week and if Kuching folks have their houses flooded they’d probably hang me upside down from the barrage bridge!

dscn7606

Anyway, there are better place to store these fruits than clogging the barrage…😉

dscn7611

Burrrrrp!!